My Retirement Plan

Folks ask me what am I going to do after I retire.   My answer is spending time in Q2.

Quadrant II (Q2) borrowed from Stephen Covey,  author of the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People fame, has things that are important but not urgent.  Important means above all others.  Urgent means got to be done NOW.

Example of Q2 things include preparation, planning, relationship building, true-recreation.  Important but not urgent.  After all, when retired, I will be on my own time. Why should I let things pressing on me.  At least not as much.

I would be preparing to transition from the 9 to 5 schedule to whenever I am ready. Planning on going to places where I enjoy.  Relationship building or rebuilding by visiting friends.  And true recreation by exploring activities that renew my soul. Oh yeah.

Sure, it will be a new journey.  I would be lying to say that I know exactly what to do. Unlike some people, I don’t have a “bucket list” or a “kick the bucket” list.  The Q2 will guide me in managing this transition into retirement.  What is important to me are taking care of:

  • My family – plan to travel a bit taking advantage of the off season rates and availability
  • Myself – my health is decent,  so I would pursue options that I have been thinking  of as a second career
  • My environment – manage this crazy data rich information poor (DRIP) world and be a bona fide netizen
This entry was posted in big data, Goals, health, inspiration, life, time management and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

