Little Known Facts About Retiring

 

Having been retired a month, I have learned a few facts that I honestly did not appreciate before my retirement.   I feel that as a public service I should share them in case you are weighing your options:

1.  time

At work my time belongs to my boss.  In other words, the boss owns me.  That includes 30 minutes lunch, meeting, overtime, commute time (not cutting into the work hours), etc.   As a result, there are deadlines and schedules.  One can not help but to be a clock-watcher.

At home it is my time.  All of it.  I get to do whatever I feel like.  It is great to be in control.  At least for now.  After a while one has to figure it out, since no boss around to tell you, what to do.

2.  appearance

At work, there is a dress code, spoken or not.  Professional appearance is important because it is part of the business image or brand.  Investments in professional attires and appearance are mandatory.  If one has to be reminded of the office dress code, that is a bad deal.

At home, I can be in PJs all day.  Who cares, other than my family and maybe my self image.  The dress code is whatever I want wear.  In fact, I donate most of my work clothing to local charities.  Perhaps others can benefit from them.

3.  routines

At work, there are fixed routines.  Commute route, staff meeting, business calls, lunch break, etc. you name it.  Life is structured around the organization’s mission, whatever that may be.  Don’t kid yourself thinking it is otherwise.

At home, my routines are less structured.  Up to now they have been what ever comes to mind.  I take care a few must do’s and the rest are free forms.  I make them up as I go.  So this could mean breakfast at 9 am or dinner at 5 pm.  The flexibility equates to freedom.

4.  social contact

At work, contacts are mainly for business reasons.  That defines the relationship and how each other is treated.  Some co-workers maybe just commiserating partners.  But they are minority.

At home, my contacts are the delivery persons during the week and family members,  There is little to none others.  Online contacts are “social” only if one so interprets it.  I don’t.

5.  distraction

At work, my typical day starts with people wanting my attention (i.e. why I worked out in the morning).  This distraction continues through lunch since my time is not really mine (See #1).   Usually after most people left around 4:30 to 5 pm, I get a chance to catch up on email and other work.

At home, my biggest distractions are the refrigerator, bed, and then computer, in that order.  It is however a lot easier for me to say no to any of them if I pay attention. Many times I forget what I was going to do because something else grabbed my attention.  As a result, many projects are left open or hanging.

These are my observations so far.  Hope they can be of value to you.

This entry was posted in humor, life, retirement, transition, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

