Alone But Not Lonely

Embed from Getty Images

In my former career  as a project manager, I worked with people.  Many people. Engineers, Financial Analysts, Contracting, etc. The job provided many opportunities for interactions. Some days, having a moment to myself would be a luxury.  I usually waited until after 4 pm when the office began to quiet down to catch up on my email and other things.

Now I am retired from that career, I have plenty of time to myself.  I get to concentrate on many of my priorities.  Quite a contrast from my previous life.  This brings me to the following quote by  Henry David Thoreau (pictured above):

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.

Unlike Thoreau, I like my living conveniences such as microwave, computer, etc., essential or not.  But I appreciate what Thoreau was  seeking.  There is a time  sooner or later when one comes to face-to-face with oneself and asks the question, Have I really lived?

Whether Thoreau confronted his inner self at the Walden, I don’t know.  I certainly have contemplated this question or something similar in nature since my retirement.  I consider it is time well spent as I am learning what is really important to me at this stage of my life.

Although the answer to the question is as unique as each individual, one thing is certain; better ask the question sooner rather than later.

This entry was posted in life, retirement, time management, transition, work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

