Changing Optics

 

The world looks much more different now than when I was younger.

Sure the world is changing due to events such as global warming, deforestation, etc. But on a personal level, I find, more often than not, the change is caused by the morphing of my own optics.

Yes, morphing of my own optics.  I am not talking about the change in my eyeglasses prescriptions but the change in my perspectives.

For example, before I had any child, I was inpatient and intolerable to baby crying.  And as the luck would have it, I would seemed to be invariably seated near one or more unhappy babies on every flight.  But since my children was born, my attitude became more understanding and sympathetic to both the parents and the babies.

And I am not alone in this evolution.  Mark Twain was noted saying,

When I was a boy of 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years.

Consequently, I am certain that my optics will continue to change.  Where is it going to lead me?  That is something I will have to find out.

How about you? Has your optics changed? recently? never?

This entry was posted in inspiration, life, transition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

