Spring Fever

Embed from Getty Images

 

I don’t feel like doing anything.

This happens from time to time.  But most notably is this time of the year during the ritual of Spring Fever.  This is when the trees and grasses are happily populating themselves.  Their pollen counts peak.  And I hit the deck.

It is a familiar cycle.  The symptoms start with running nose and itchy eyes, coughing and sneezing, and eventually, if allowed to run its course, a full blown sinus infection.  I would be running ragged for a few days until I succumb to the reality that I am running on empty or negative energy.

What usually happens is I come to a grinding halt.  Like driving a car without changing its oil.  Full stop. Period. That is also when I don’t feel like doing anything.  Nothing at all other than just let the body rest.  Give it a break, the body has been warning screaming for.

Sleep seemed to work best for me.  I would sleep for hours and hours, like a hibernating animal, giving the body its needed rest.  Then, when the time is right, I slowly regain my facilities back.  Moving ever gradually and gingerly, heeding to every details the body recounts.

This is an annual ritual.  Wonder why I don’t hit the brake earlier before I crash?

This entry was posted in blogging, health, transition, weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Fever

  1. WalkToRio says:

    Yikes!
    At home the other persons suffers with all kind of allergies. Tissues this time of the year are abundant at home. I’m lucky to not be allergic to anything.
    Hope you feeling better now.

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

