Day 6 Week 3 – Best Part of Running

Among our running group, there is a saying that the best part of running is afterwards. While I believe this is true in the context of racing and training where the pressure is to do one’s best,  I wonder if and when running itself can be the best part.

Take today’s long run for instance.  The schedule calls for 11 miles – all easy pace (9:00 to 9:45).  The weather is gorgeous, not too humid and not too hot.  As much as I tried to take that into consideration and enjoy the run, it is still 11 miles.  Not exactly a walk in the park.

For the most part, I focus on maintaining a running tempo of 180 strides per minute.  This cadence keeps me running at a constant effort, not constant pace. And depends on the terrains my splits vary up and down.

My times are 11:33, 8:33, 10:22, 9:41, 9:17, 9:11, 9:08, 9:47, 7:35, 8:55, 10:49 for a total of 1 hour 43 minutes.

For the duration of a movie, I ran solo.  Had I run with someone, might it be more enjoyable? Possibly.  A shared experience certainly could enhance the experience.  Or perhaps focus more on the weather instead of my running tempo?  But those would be different from enjoying the running itself.

Will I ever be able to enjoy the run for its own sake?  Like an artist enjoys his/ her work?  I would like to think yes.  Yes that I eventually would enjoy the process of running, the journey, and not the destination.

For now I will stick with the destination.

This entry was posted in Goals, marathon training, weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 6 Week 3 – Best Part of Running

  1. Add in one workout a week where you run “free” no gadgets, trackers, GPS. Or mute them if you can’t stand to do without. Just run to run, listening to your body. Maybe that will give you the enjoyment you’re missing.

    Liked by 1 person

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

