My Hobby of Calendar Gazing

I love calendars.  They symbolize time and remind me to plan and organize my life.

In addition to the symbolism, the calendar is a tangible tool for me to see what is coming up (e.g. anniversaries, birthdays, appointments and meetings), how full or busy I am or will be, and a record of what actually happened.

It must seems like a wasted activity when I am just staring at the calendar.  In reality, my mind is visualizing the future.  Similar to ducks swimming in the pond:  they appear idling while beneath the water surface, their feet are paddling like mad.

I tend to collect calendars in different formats.  Virtual-electronic, book planner, wall mount, desktop,  you name it.  It is a wonder that I am not lost in all these calendars.

My preferred format is the month-at-a-glance.  That is about the right planning horizon for me.  Beyond a month, I can’t help it to not think about it. By far, my favorite go-to calendar is the Franklin-Covey Monticello monthly planner.

How about you?  What are some of your hobbies?

This entry was posted in blogging, time management and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

