Day 2 Week 5 – Getting Into A Rhythm

Running free this morning (8 miles easy), I noticed that there were lots of birds chirping along my route. I would not have noticed them otherwises like if I were driving or being preoccupied with something else.

Another thing I noticed was my body is getting more used to running at certain pace, cadence, and distance prescribed by the training schedule.  My strides seemed steadier, breath smoother.  In essence, my body is being conditioned day after day.

And, the 20 week marathon training amounts to a process of conditioning. Albeit oversimplified, the principle is true.  You are what you repeatedly do. The goal for me is by the end of the 20 weeks, my body will be ready to take on the challenge of running 26.2 miles at a pace that will re-qualify me for the Boston Marathon.

I am not there yet.  More weeks and miles await before my body will be ready. But for now, I believe that I am definitely heading in the right direction.

Are you training for a race?  How is that coming?

This entry was posted in blogging, Goals, health, marathon training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 2 Week 5 – Getting Into A Rhythm

  1. I’ve struggled to come to terms with having to reduce my running recently 😦 Part of it is time — I’m working (editing) and writing more, and fitting that in around the usual chaos is challenging in itself. I’m also hiking/walking more, so in that sense at least I’m getting exercise, but it’s not the same as running! I’m thinking I might lower my sights a bit. Perhaps instead of trying to fit in the 5k once a week, just do two or three 20 minute runs and that way i can still get out and about.

    It’s true that our bodies get conditioned to what we do regularly. That also happens in the opposite way, though. It doesn’t take long to become a couch potato again, if you suddenly stop! Good to hear your training is going well 🙂

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

