Day 2 Week 6 – Self Love

While running the 10 miles easy (9:00 to 9:45) this morning, the topic of “self love” popped into my head. This usually happens during my long runs when my mind takes a break from my body and surroundings.

There was heavy fog hovering over the valley.  It kept the sun at bay and the air cool.  And I was running free.

The “self love” that popped into my head is not the narcissistic kind but the taking-care-of-self kind.  For example, I run in the morning for a variety reasons.  Foremost is that I am doing something good for my health.  That fits my definition of self love.

We are often expected to take care of others.  Be it children, parents, co-workers, etc. Depending on your roles.  But I contend that unless you take care of self first, it is difficult to take care others.

How do you define “Self-love?”

This entry was posted in blogging, life, marathon training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

