Day 1 Week 9 – Basic Tempo

Mondays and Thursday are my speed workout or hard days.  For instance today’s schedule calls 2 mile warm up, 4 miles @ 8:00 to 8:10 pace, 2 mile cool down.

The tempo run of 4 miles at 8:00 to 8:10 pace is actually at my marathon race pace.  So I figure it would be good to practice how it feels.  Here are my times: 8:31, 8:07, 7:36, 8:02.

The first mile, my baseline mile, is slower than scheduled despite that I open my strides.  The second mile I tighten up my  my rhythms to ensure I get 180 strides per minute.  And that works to speed my pace up.  In the third mile, I open up my stride to take advantage of the down hill.  And the time shows.

I like to be more consistent in my pace.  Still need to work on how each pace feels, the mind-body connect.  I am confident that with additional miles I will have them down in due time.

This entry was posted in marathon training, training technique, transition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

