Day 1 Week 11 – 4 Mile Cut Down Gone Wild

The best-laid plans of mice and men . . .

And there was no excuse: no sun, no humidity, and cool temperature. A perfect weather for my cutdown runs today: 2 mile warm up, 4 miles cutdown (8:20, 8:10, 8:00, 7:50 – No rest), 2 mile cool down.

That would be how the runs were supposed to go if I were executing them perfectly.

The cutdown runs was based on my marathon pace of 8:00 per mile.  I was to start easy and gradually work up to the marathon pace and push beyond that pace for the last mile. All well under my lactate threshold of 7:45 in a controlled fashion simulating that mid-race acceleration. At least, that was the plan.

What actually happened was nowhere close:

  • First mile – not wanting to go too fast, I ran relaxed. Thinking it was just slightly under my marathon pace. Well I was too relaxed and ran 8:42, way slower than I realized.
  • Second mile – alarmed by the first mile time, I picked up my pace to my marathon pace (so I thought).  It turned out somewhat faster at 7:51. But I wasn’t too worried.
  • Third mile – continued to accelerate I ran at an interval pace, shooting for 7:40. Arms pulling and upper body relaxed, my time was 7:04.  Obviously overdid it and over my lactate threshold.
  • Forth mile – given it was the last cutdown mile, I ran as fast as I could. But 7:09 was all I could mustered. Bitten. Lactic acid built up. Or whatever.

In summary my cutdown 4 mile times were as follows:  8:42, 7:51, 7:04, 7:09.

This entry was posted in marathon training, training technique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

