Day 2 Week 11 – Back To Basics

“That is just basic,” scoffed this person as if this is a waste of his time.

Surely that sentiment is not unique.  How often have you heard that or similar phrases? But here are the questions:

  1. How many people get the basics right?
  2. How long can “success” last without the basics?
  3. How often do we go “back to basics?”

For today’s 4 miles easy (9:00 to 9:45), I timed myself.  My pace was 9:51.  Not the end of the world given I was road running and not on a track.  And for easy miles, runnersconnect.com recommended slower is better than the faster pace.

Be that as it may.   My cadence was about 180 steps per minute.  My breath was nice and shallow.  Only if my stride was a bit open or longer, I would be within the 9:00 to 9:45 range.

I am getting back to basics.  Cadence, breathing, and stride are the basics for me to work on with my pace.

This entry was posted in Goals, marathon training, training technique and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

