Day 3 Week 11 – Feeling The Heat

My body hasn’t even warmed up, the sweat is already dripping  down my eye brows.  “It is going to be a great run today,” I say to myself sarcastically.  It is afterall Washington Summer.

Today’s four miles easy (9:00 to 9:45) and the striders (4 x 20 sec) afterwards are more laborious than usual.  Thanks to this heat and humidity, and compounded by the delayed fatigue remanent from Monday’s cutdown runs.

During the run, my lungs wrestles with the air.  Struggling for each breath like a fish out of the water.  It is supposed to be easy pace, I remind myself.  But my body is not feeling it.

Afterwards, I have a hard time cooling down.  Mouth wide opened and sweat dripping as if someone just poured a bucket of water over me. Not glamorous.

In hindsight this will be just one of those Summer days, but for now I need to get a towel to dry myself off.

This entry was posted in humor, marathon training, weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 3 Week 11 – Feeling The Heat

  1. Maybe you didn’t feel glamourous but you earned all that sweat. It is hard running in summer. I feel like I have two sports I do: running and surviving summer running.

    Like

  2. I find running in this heat unbearable after 9am, so I head out early. Even then I’m drenched after the first five mins.

    Like

  3. terryshen says:

    Welcome to the club, Elysha. Another benefit of early running is no need to apply sun screen.

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

