Day 6 Week 11 – Longest Run Of The Season

On my marathon training schedule, today is a repeat of last Saturday’s 15 mile long run – all easy pace (9:00 to 9:45).

My beloved SRC however has their long run of 18 miles today.  So I opt to run beyond the 15 miles in support of the camaraderie with the group and finish with a 17 mile run in 2 hour 45 min.

In any events, this is my longest run for the training season, before the Wineglass marathon.  I will not be going up to the 21 mile long runs as the SRC schedule prescribes.  I know this is a break from SRC tradition.

Instead, I am following a modified schedule from runnersconnect.net that leverages the accumulative fatigue factor of back-to-back runs of up to 16 miles. It is part of  the experiments I do every year to fine-tune my running.

The low humidity makes today’s run more pleasant than last week’s in spite of the two additional miles.  One bottle of water is all I needed. It seems to me that towards the end of the run, the mental stamina is more challenging than the physical.

What is your longest training run?

This entry was posted in Goals, marathon training, training technique, Wineglass Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

