Day 3 Week 12 – Mental Toughness Day

Looking at my training schedule, today is supposed to be easy pace:

5 miles easy (9:00 to 9:45) w/4 x 20 sec strides

Be that as it may, I say to myself, my legs are still sore from Monday and Tuesday’s workouts.  Hmmm . . . maybe I need to practice mental toughness on days like today.

So this is what do:

I follow the schedule as prescribed, running 5 miles and strides, but added my “personal bubble.”

Yes, my personal running bubble is this invisible shield that surrounds me.  My field of vision is three feet in front of me; my mental focus are my strides (180 per minute) and my breath (nice and shallow).

Inside of this little world, I push through hills, asphalts, bridges, you name it.  When the going gets tough, the trios of sight, stride, and breath carry me through. They are my mental targets as well as my comfort blankets.

I am both invisible and invincible inside of my bubble.

What do you practice for your mental toughness?

This entry was posted in marathon training, training technique and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

