Day 3 Week 13 – Repetition & Learning

Malcolm Gladwell’s 10,000 has a point.  Repetition is the mother of all learning, and by extension, skills.  And with repetitions over time discernment results.

Today’s schedule is 4 miles easy (9:00 to 9:45) w/4 x 20 sec strides, and it is a schedule that I have been doing for a while now.  While running up the hill, I realize that my stride count is no longer driving my cadence.  It is instead following the cadence.

In another word, my body is getting used to running 180 steps per minute.  This cadence is becoming part of my rhythm.  I have been counting my steps everyday. Now,  it is being integrated into my running.

Along with this observation, I notice my body, specifically my arms and trunk rotations, flow smoothly with this cadence.  It is like a second nature, developed through repetitions. The muscle memory is a habit resulted from repetition of training.

Have you noticed any patterns of training/ learning that has helped your skill acquisition?

This entry was posted in marathon training, training technique, transition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3 Week 13 – Repetition & Learning

  1. I’ve been adding sprints on the treadmill and have been able to increase the speed in which I walk – 4.0 – 4.5 and incline. Same with Eliptical. Slow increments over a year. Very true. It’s all about repetition.

    Like

    • terryshen says:

      “Slow increments over a year . . .” wise choice, Madeline. Good luck with your boat at the Annapolis Boat Show. I will be running the Ten Miler in Annapolis at the end of the this month.

      Terry

      Liked by 1 person

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

