Day 5 Week 13 – Steady, Steady, Steady

According to RunnersConnect,  steady runs is used “to add a slight amount of fatigue to the legs before a longer tempo run, which better simulates and practices the tired feeling at the end of a marathon.”

So the purpose of my steady run today is in combination with tomorrow’s 16 miles long run.  However, I also want to use today’s steady run as a practice for my pacing.

Here is my schedule for today:  1 mile easy, 3 miles steady pace (8:10 to 8:40), 1 mile easy. And my times for the three miles steady are 7:42, 8:06, 8:35.  Not very steady, is it?

My first mile, I make the rookie mistake of running fast.  And the same for the last mile but too slow.  The variation of approximately 30 seconds between the miles is exactly what I wanted to avoid.

However not all is lost. Since the steady run paces are comfortably hard, I experience the stride and breath combinations for the three different paces; slightly pushing myself (7:42), nice steady pace (8:06), and slightly fatigued (8:35).

The nice steady pace would be good for my marathon race.  And that is the pace I need to get familiar and comfortable with.

What about you?  How steady is your training, performance, or life?

This entry was posted in Goals, marathon training, time management, training technique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

