Day 3 Week 14 – Running Nutritions

I weigh 145 pounds from my physical exam today.  I have lost 10 pounds since my training started 13 weeks ago and am pretty satisfied with my progress to date.  My doctor says for me the ideal ranges are from 127 to 160.

Certainly we are what we eat.  But for runners, our nutrition requirement is different than average  to sustain our running.  Take the low carb diet, famous for people wanting to lose weight, it will not work for runners.  We need carbohydrates to sustain our mileages.

Here is an article from RunnersConnect.com that offers nutrition tips for runners. Specifically, it suggests using glycemic index as a tool in gauging our nutrition intake.  And eat food with low glycemic index before the race and high glycemic index during and after the race to enhance performance.

My run today is 8 miles easy (9:00 to 9:45) w/4 x 20 sec strides.

This entry was posted in health, marathon training, nutrition, training technique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3 Week 14 – Running Nutritions

  1. I hate that people are so afraid of carbs… And then wonder why they can’t run for a long time.

    Congrats to you!!

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

