Day 4 Week 19 – Taper Tempo & Fine Tuning

Knowing the time is whining down towards the marathon, I ran my taper tempo today (2 mile warm up, 2 x 2 miles at 8:20 pace, 2 mile cool down) with a mission – work on my race pace.

My tempo times were: 8:00, 8:12, 7:44, 8:17.  Total 8 miles.  The first mile I was right on my ideal race pace of 8 minute mile, the second and third mile were uphill and downhill respectively, and on the fourth mile I overcorrected my pace.

In spite of of my schedule says 8:20 pace*, I have one more tempo left before the marathon to train for my ideal race pace.  I need to be more consistent regardless of uphill or downhill, trust my feeling, and reduce the split variances (0.00%, 2.50%, -3.33%, 3.54%).

*8:20 pace is a 3:38:29 marathon and 8:00 pace is 3:29:45.  I need 3:40 to qualify for the Boston marathon but as fast as I can to improve my chance of actually getting in the race.

This entry was posted in awareness, big data, Goals, inspiration, marathon training, time management, training technique and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

