Day 2 Week 20 – Taper Tempo – Last Speed Workout

Today’s taper tempo (2 mile warm-up, 3 miles at 8:20 pace, 2 mile cool down) is my last speed workout prior to the Wineglass Marathon.  Being 5 days out, doing this workout today gives me enough time to fully recover.  My tempo times are: 8:01, 8:19, and 7:45.

Along with the tempo runs, I practiced my pacing.  It is a key element of my marathon strategy to maintain a consistent race pace and running efficiency.  Although not perfect, I feel I have a good handle on my pacing.  My ideal race pace is 8 minute mile.

Weather is getting cool.  Based on last year’s experience, Corning, New York would be even cooler. I am keeping an eye on the weather forecast as we get closer to the weekend.  In any events, I  plan to bring gloves, long sleeve, and pants just in case.

5 days to race day.

This entry was posted in awareness, marathon training, transition, Wineglass Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 2 Week 20 – Taper Tempo – Last Speed Workout

  1. WalkToRio says:

    I have a lot to catch up to do.
    In the meantime, have a great race.

    Like

  2. terryshen says:

    Understood, Leo. And thanks for the encouragement. I am looking forward to the race, a feeling you kmow well.

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

