Day 5 Week 20 – Letting Go

I am ready to purge some of my old possessions.  Textbooks from schools, old letters from decades ago, etc.  Things that I have held on thinking they will become of historical values some day.

Now I realize that is not going to happen.  The chance of someone writing my autobiography is as remote as me going to the moon.  I am ready to dispose of these old things which have been around the house collecting dust for a long time. I don’t think I will need them anymore.  Finally!

Letting go is a learned process.  It is not an innate ability.  And there is a time and place for that process to take place. Too soon or too late can create negative ramifications such as regrets, guilts, and other emotional baggages. But however difficult letting go may be, do give the time and attention it deserves.

From my experience, certain things one just come to term with them.  These are not limited to old possessions but also can be applied to relationship, memories, marathons, etc.  It is better to face the facts, accept them, and move on.

Is there anything that you want to let go?

This entry was posted in awareness, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 5 Week 20 – Letting Go

  1. yogaseema says:

    I think there is always something to let go of. I know for me, some things are harder than others and the harder things, I usually have more of an emotional attachment to. I also think you’re right, you can’t do it prematurely either as it may like a child with a security blanket attached to it, ripping it away too soon may not be a good thing. Thanks for the post.

    Like

  2. I just cleared through our winter accessories. Interestingly, this time around it was much easier to let go of most of the stuff I had been holding onto. I just finished reading a book all about decluttering. It tells us to ask if an item “sparks joy”..that should be the basis of your decision on whether to keep something or not. I found it really helpful!

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

