On Becoming Gentler

It has been thirteen months since I retired.  The question of whether I am getting soft as I grow older is debatable.  But one thing is for sure, my retirement has taught me to be gentle.  Both with myself and others.

With Self – I stop forcing myself.  Especially with things I dislike such as commuting, waking up prematurely, or bending to others’ priorities.  I remove many “negatives” from my daily life. Things that takes away my energy.  As a result, I am more relaxed, patient, and aware with myself and . . .

With Others – I interact more at ease with people.  By being gentle with self creates space for me to be open and more accepting with others.  I don’t pass onto others the stress of forcing things just to conform to some schedule or priority.  Interestingly, I notice more options to get things done and usually better (i.e. win-win vice win-lose).

The transition has fashioned a nice fit with my life.  I feel more natural and achieve better results.  Just imagine less bruises and scars then you get the picture.  And I truly believe that everyone can be so without having to retire first.

What is your temperament? Have you noticed any unnatural fit in your daily life?

This entry was posted in awareness, Goals, health, life, meditation, retirement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

