On Writing

Embed from Getty Images

 

Hemingway, I am not.  Yet I like writing.

Writing, like running, is a discipline I learned to enjoy and cultivate it. That is not to say that writing is easy.  Writer’s block, proper word choice, or clarity of thought are common challenges even for the pro’s.  I am certainly not exempted. But it does get easier with practice.

Writing is a creative process.  It can serve as a form of self expression, an emotional release, a personal record, or all of the above.  For me the process is punctuated by an editing as the final polish.  Someday, it just flow like a river.  Other times, dry as the Mojave desert. Interestingly, many times with this writing process, the final outcome surprises me and looks very different from where I started.  A finesse that I have come to appreciate.

I consider the benefits of writing are far and wide beyond the tasks at hand.  My satisfactions come from not only the freedom of expression it affords but also the acknowledgement from others, the connection with like-minded individuals, and the sharing of ideas.

One caveat: The benefits will materialize, if the discipline is followed and executed. Just like training for a marathon.

Do you like writing? what does it do for you? any tips on improvement?

This entry was posted in awareness, blogging, leadership, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Writing

  1. “Writing is a creative process. It can serve as a form of self expression, an emotional release, a personal record, or all of the above.” Completely agree. Writing is a tool for me to work through emotions and refine thought. Good piece.

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

