“Can You Hear Me Now?”

The famous line from the Verizon commercials has taken on a different ring, or not.

How we communicate has become more spontaneous.  Thanks to the internet and mobile technologies.  What used to be science-fiction fifty years ago, like the video chat, is common occurrence today.

And the traditional barriers of space and time have succumbed to the speed and popularity of internet and social networks.  Major news events travel in seconds instead of hours or days of the past.

I don’t know about you, but fifty years is within my lifetime.  That’s a lot of progress. But even so, I am not sure if what we try to communicate is any clearer.

Do you get your information more digitally or from the traditional word of mouth?  Do you communicate differently with the digital technologies?

 

This entry was posted in awareness, life, meditation, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Can You Hear Me Now?”

  1. Though I definitely get most of my information digitally these days, it’s still digital versions of traditional print media; digital editions of books, magazines and newspapers. I also watch a lot of TV and movies, but I don’t rely on those for information, just entertainment. I have next to no interest in social media, do not use FaceBook, Twitter, Instagram etc. and I’ve been on Skype exactly once. I have a cell phone, but not a “data plan”. I use it for phone calls, period.

    I’m 62, and I had a traditional broad, what used to be called “liberal arts education” in my twenties, then specific advanced medical education in my forties. I took mostly Library Science and Communications courses during the first round of college in the early 1970s, so I was lucky to have been taught a great deal about how messages are passed between humans. If the science is reliable, and I do believe the studies and experiments, most information that passes between humans is not based on the words. Up to 75% of meaning comes from non-verbal aspects like proximity, body language, vocal tone, facial expressions and smell (pheromones). That surprises most people I tell. It also says something about the limitations of social media, and how easily one can be misunderstood on those platforms.

    The advantage is that you and I now have more avenues available for passing messages, and it’s easier to do. The disadvantage is that the limitations of digital media mean it will also be easier to be misunderstood, and to communicate unintended messages.

    Like

  2. terryshen says:

    Absolutely right, Mikey. A lot of meanings have been stripped away without the non-verbals. And messages conveyed by words alone can be mis-interpreted, manipulated or both Kinda like fast food – quick but no guaranty of quality.

    Liked by 1 person

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

