Reblog: What Others Know About You

“There is a lot about us that we don’t notice or acknowledge because it’s simply who we are and how we’ve developed over years and through learning and experience.”

I chewed on Eric’s words over and over. Because they are so true! Our blind spots are exactly that, things we can’t see about ourselves. Because we developed over time.

When I was still working, I used an instrument called the 360 degree feedback. The idea is similar to what Eric suggested, get feedback from your peers, boss, subordinate and yourself. Comparison of the results was very revealing both in matched areas between your self concept and how others see you and the gaps.

Why not give the exercise a try?

Eric Tonningsen's Awakening to Awareness

strengths3

“We are all here on earth to help others; what on earth the others are here for I don’t know.” ~ W.H. Auden

Eleven years ago I met my first Life Coach. It was Jane who saw that my blocks and my direction were closely connected. We worked for some time to rediscover my direction. One early exploratory exercise that Jane invited me to pursue was to ask five people to describe me in short words/phrases.

Some time later I realized the purpose and benefit of this exercise. You see, most of us believe we know ourselves better than anyone else. And to measurable extents, this may be true. Yet when those five people replied with candid feedback, I read and learned of strengths that I did not clearly see or embrace.

There is a lot about us that we don’t notice or acknowledge because it’s simply who we are…

View original post 363 more words

This entry was posted in awareness, leadership, social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

