No Surprise Please

Embed from Getty Images

 

I don’t like surprise.  Okay, let me be brutally honest, I hate surprises! And I don’t think I am alone on this.

Back in the days when I worked as a project manager, the golden rule in the office was no surprises. Not to the bosses, not to the customers, and definitely not to ourselves.  We would do everything possible to mitigate any foreseeable risks.

Now having a bit more leeway, I still prefer the policy of no surprises.  Surprise is difficult both in giving and receiving.  And the return of such effort is usually minimum and short lived.

Plus, deep down, I believe nobody likes to be surprised.  People like to be in control of their situation, time, or what is going to happen to them.  To the maximum extent possible, no surprise please.

What’s your opinion about surprises?  What is it like for you?

This entry was posted in humor, life, social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Surprise Please

  1. Won’t it depend on the type of surprise? 😉

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

