Urgency Addiction

TODAY ONLY

GET IT WHILE LASTS

FLASH SALES

LIMITED TIME OFFER 

etc.

What’s with these ads?  They create a pseudo urgency –  Hurry, time is running out and if you don’t act now you will be missing out!  – and hope that I will fall for it.

I am amazed that these ads still around.  Perhaps they work with some folks capitalizing on their urgency addiction.  But not me. I despise these ads so much, if email, I delete them as soon as I get them.  Or over the phone.  A common phone scam – IRS Agent Calling, response now or else.  Spare me please!

True urgency like a crying baby or a blaring siren from an ambulance motivates.  But selling a product or service should be based on customer’s need, not some phony crises. That is not how I get my fixes.

How do  you recognize pseudo urgency? Any favorite ploys you care to share? 

This entry was posted in awareness, humor, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

