Day 1 Week 6 – First (Barefoot) Speed Workout

8/1/2016 – 6 AM run, 3.3 miles warm up, 3 x (600 meters at 6:40 pace, 400 meters at 6:30 pace, 200 meters 6:20 pace, 3 min rest between intervals) with 5 min rest between sets, 3.3 mile cool down.

My first speed intervals of the season, and I ran it barefoot on a high school track.  The track itself was made of asphalt and a bit tough for my barefoot.  So I took advantage of the in field artificial turf as much as possible.

My actual time versus the target were as follows:

Set 600 m 400 m 200 m
1 2:37 1:30 0:44
2 2:20 1:33 0:45
3 2:30 1:35 0:47
target pace equivalent 2:30 1:40 0:48

I am pleased with the outcomes but am a bit surprised that it took over two hours to complete the entire workout.  In the past, for the sake of getting to the office on-time, I always rushed my morning workouts.  Which meant quality of the workout gave way to expediency most of the time.   A real compromise.

Glad I don’t have to do that anymore.

 

This entry was posted in marathon training, training technique. Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

