Day 4 week 13 – Mental Extremes

9/22/2016 – 8 AM run, sunny & cool, 6 miles easy

Yes, A Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste.  But . . . It is also a terrible thing to fix.

I don’t know about yours, but my mind goes on extremes, at the worst possible times.

It is bright daylight, when I am most awake and alert, my mind gets bored.  It does not have anything interesting to focus on.  Nothing to challenge my little pea-brain, and nothing to hold my attention.

Then at night, at the end of the day, when I am ready to go to sleep, my mind goes stir-crazy and would not stop.  It replays events from the day, rehearses things yet to come, or just being a busy-body second guessing the world events.  Feels like a central train station between my two ears.

What do I do without going crazy, you ask?

Like any good student of meditation, I know that I am not my mind. Oh no. Far from it.

I would like to say that I stand apart from it and observe it from a distance.  But that would be not true, at least not for me.  The truth is that I try to coax my mind through relaxation, breathing, distraction, etc. etc.  You name it. With a mixed success.

Definitely a work in progress.

How is your relationship with yourself?  your mind? Where is the balance?

This entry was posted in awareness, humor, marathon training, meditation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

