Day 1 Week 15 – Alternating Tempos

10/3/2016 – 9 AM run, sunny, 3.3 miles warm up, 6 miles at (8:00, 7:40, 8:00, 7:40, 8:00, 7:40, 3.3 miles cool down

Runners Connect has a good description on the alternating tempos.  I ran too fast on the first tempo, so instead of the slow-fast order, I flipped it to fast-slow.  And my time splits were: 7:32, 8:01, 7:36, 8:32, 7:36, 8:46.

Obviously, I couldn’t hold my race pace in clearing the lactate build up on the fourth and sixth miles.  Not sure if it was psychological (i.e. me thinking about the lactate) or my legs were actually tired. Needless to say, on the cool down miles I slowed my pace to a jog.

Also I ran today’s workout in running shoes because the cut on my left foot is not healed.  The running shoes felt quite odd as I have been training with my minimal shoes for three months. The extra cushion seemed to throw my balance off a bit.

Isn’t that interesting?  Couldn’t wait to get back to my minimal shoes.

What habits are holding you back?

This entry was posted in awareness, marathon training, training technique and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

