Day 5 Week 15 – Mental Marathon

10/7/2016 – 9 AM run, cool, 1 mile easy,  4 miles steady pace (8:10 to 8:40), 1 mile easy.  My steady pace splits were: 8:24, 8:25, 8:35, 8:29

The steady pace run today, combined with the surge long run tomorrow is designed to (1) simulate the tired legs in the late stage of a marathon and (2) run on tired legs to increase muscular endurance.

Without questions, running a marathon takes physical strength and endurance.  But the aspect of mental training is often understated or unnoticed.  As I get out of the house to hit the pavement each run, I do not rely on any external mental support.  No music, no motivational speeches, no daydreaming.

Instead, I focus on each step.

I know this may sound corny or trite. But it is in fact just the opposite.  I don’t think about how much I have run or how much more that I yet to complete.  Either way, the distance discourages me.  Moreover, neither helps me to feel the present moment, the very step I am taking.

If anything, I go micro-focused on my body.  How I land my foot, the recoiling force, my air uptake, arm swings, etc.  Monitoring my body is like if I am inside of a flight cockpit with all the instrumentation gauges to pay attention to.  In case something happens and needs adjustment.

In other words, I am preoccupied with my running.  Kinda like in a flow.  And long and behold, whatever the distance, it almost does not matter.

What gives you strength to sustain your energy and focus?

This entry was posted in awareness, marathon training, meditation, training technique and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

