Day 5 Week 17 – T.M.I.

10/21/2016 – 8 AM run, cool, 1 mile easy,  5 miles steady pace (8:10 to 8:40), 1 mile easy

My splits for the steady run were: 7:58, 8:14, 7:45, 8:45, 8:37.  Because I did the run on the road so my splits were not as accurate as on a track.

In this information age, an avalanche of unwanted information or TMI (too much information) is robbing us of our time and attention.

Everywhere you turn – flashing pop ups, unsolicited intrusions, and dinner time calls.  The other day, after using my phone to navigate to a restaurant for lunch, I received a pop up survey about my experience with the restaurant. Uninvited.  Unwanted.

Even when we are looking for information, search results will bring up tons of materials. Pages of them, supposedly relevant.  But many are bogus advertisements piggy back on our searched key words faking as valid recommendations.  Others are outdated or marginally useful.

Sure, one can argue that we have a choice.  We can select which information to receive.  But that is easier said than done.  The Do Not Call list does not stop the sales calls.  Keyword filter does not block the unwanted ads (unless, of course you load a Oxford dictionary worth of keywords in).  And it seems to get worse every day.

This is the situation common to many of us – a tug-of-war with the tools we have.

Too much of anything is “too much.”  The question becomes what do you do when you had enough?

This entry was posted in awareness, big data, marathon training, time management and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 5 Week 17 – T.M.I.

  1. Since most who call my landline are trying to sell me on something, I rarely answer. I have to know the number to pick it up. This goes for my cell as well.

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

