Day 7 Week 20 – Week in Review (13 Nov 2016)

11/13/2016 – 8 AM Aspire Harrisburg Marathon, total 23 miles for the week (not including the marathon).

A twofer this week: the Presidential Election on Tuesday and my Aspire Harrisburg Marathon today.  Donald Trump won the election against Hillary Clinton, and equally surprising was that I did not finish the marathon (more on that later).

Like anything else, space and time prior to the main events are filled with uncertainties.   And this week certainly lives up to that expectation.  Regardless how much we dislike it there will always be factors beyond our control.  Important to recognize the risk, do whatever within our control, and respond accordingly.

The reason I did not finish the marathon is because I injured my left foot.  This race was the first time I am running with my minimal shoes, and portion of the marathon course was on a trail where the gravel surface was too much for my minimal shoes to handle. Somehow, I managed to injure my left foot.  Later on at the turn around point (mile 17.5), my left foot was hurting to the point I could not make up the hill.  The result is I DNF for the first time.

So accepting the fact that Mr. Trump is our president-elect and my marathon training did not pay out on a favorable race.  While there will be plenty of time to reflect on what happened, I choose to move on.

Have a great week.

This entry was posted in Goals, health, life, marathon training, shoes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 7 Week 20 – Week in Review (13 Nov 2016)

  1. so sorry to hear you weren’t able to finish the race – after all the preparation you’ve done!!

    Like

    • terryshen says:

      Thanks Claire. Yes I was disappointed – not as much from not being able to finish the race but from injuring myself. Which was the real surprise after what I considered a good training season. So I will need to re-look at m my training and think about what I need to do differently next time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry about your injury — hope it heals quickly. And Moving on sounds like a healthy attitude.

    Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

