Me And My PDA

One day I caught my mobile phone doing something on its own – “accelerometer calibration.” Of course, that might be just the tip of the iceberg, considering all the updates that are happening in the background without my knowledge.

But this is exactly my point.  My mobile phone has earned the coveted spot as my personal digital assistance.  It has my trust.  Yet, is it cheating on me?

You see, I use my mobile to “Ask Google” on how is the weather, directions to places, converting euro into dollar, etc.  I carry it everywhere except the shower.  But even then, it is not far. Seriously, I am not alone. Google reports that 87% of Millennials always have their smartphone at their side, day and night.

Naturally with such intimacy comes trust. Because my mobile knows my every move. The aforementioned accelerometer detects if I am driving, walking, or stationary. And it knows where I am via GPS.  Not to mention, I divulge lots of info about my interests through the “Ask Google” . . .  You get the picture!

In other words, my mobile reads my mind, my intentions, and my preferences. But, and this is a huge BUT, I am not sure if my trust is not being manipulated. When those personalized products or services pop up on my mobile unsolicited, I suspect my smartphone maybe smarter than I am giving it credit for.

How much do you use/ trust your mobile phone?

This entry was posted in awareness, big data, humor, relationship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Me And My PDA

  1. Interestingly enough, I am without mine right now as the battery is being replaced. So I’d have to say I’ve had little trust nor faith in my phone lately as it’s been dying on me constantly! But I do rely on it for directions etc…And I do think all the info we give it is refurbished into ads. I try to not to get too caught up in this though.

    Like

  2. 50in50marathonquest says:

    No doubt we are tethered to our phones in this age and that is just the progression of technology..most of us, me included, would be totally lost without our devices. In terms of those personalized pop-ups and smart searches though, that is nothing to do with you phone – it is the underlying software or service that you are accessing…google is figuring all that stuff out because the search algorithms are designed and optimized to deliver content that they think you want to see, and your search history is connected through any device – doesn’t matter whether you use a desktop, laptop, tablet, or phone. Data can be further refined because these software engines are smart enough to start figuring out all of your social network connections because you likely use the same account or maybe a couple of accounts to connect to all of them. Put search data and social network profiles together and you have a very powerful data set. So, while your smartphone is indeed very useful, it’s really not all that smart. It is mind blowing when you put it all together. But, you can always turn it all off, right? 🙂

    Like

    • terryshen says:

      Yes James, it is mind blowing on how much access our mobile phones have over other platforms. That is why I resent being manipulated via this very tool. I understand our mobile phones is only a conduit. And turning it off is a viable option. But that defeats the purpose of having the tool.
      Thanks for sharing.

      Like

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

