Day 6 Week 3 – Press On

14 miles easy pace.

With run by feel, I noticed that my feet got a lot hotter with socks and shoes as compared to wearing the sandals.  The reason was I do my long runs on the Chesapeake & Ohio Canal Towpath which is rougher than the asphalt and not suitable for minimal shoes.

Today’s 14 miles while manageable felt like a long-long run.  It was so long that I did not want to run another inch more afterwards.  No, no. Not today.  Which meant the prospect of running 12.2 more miles for a marathon seemed ridiculous, at this time.

That’s right.  Today’s run also proves that marathons are not a sport that one can jump in at a moment’s fancy (not if the goal is to complete it).  It takes a lot of practices, mile over mile, to build up that muscular strength and psychological confidence to tackle the challenge.

Instant gratification it is not.  Nor is it for the faint of heart.  According to the Running USA, marathoners consist of only 3% of all runners who competed in 2015.  A small club of dedicated athletes.  I know my work awaits me.  I am on week 3 of my 20 weeks of marathon training.

So press on.

How do you persist in the face of challenge?

 

This entry was posted in marathon training, shoes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

