Day 1 Week 4 – Hill Work

 

7 miles easy w/ 4 hill  (20-30 sec)

Originally, today’s run was 3x hill sprints (i.e. at 95% effort for 10 seconds each with walk down & rest).   But they turned out more like hill runs than hill sprints .  Why?  No power.

When launched into the hill, I ran as hard as I could.  But after 10 seconds I realized there was no explosiveness in my legs like if they were coming out of starting blocks.  Instead, I extended the run just to give my legs a work out.

Don’t get me wrong, after four trips up the hill, my legs still got tired.  And with 3.3 miles on the return,  I was worried that I had to walk back.  Luckily, that was not necessary.  I will need to find a hill closer by, so I can try the explosive hill sprint again in the future runs.

How do you add power to your legs?

This entry was posted in awareness, health, marathon training, training technique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?

