Survey – Anyone?

Embed from Getty Images

 

Lately, for some unknown reason, I’ve been getting lots of hit with requests for survey online. They tend to be related to my transaction online and are none political. Usual caveat is ” Hi Terry, we want your opinion/ feedback.”

I don’t have problem with such request. How else could one make a difference in this digital world?  But I do have problems with how these online surveys are handled.

One. The platforms conducting the surveys are usually unknown to me. Thus, phishing is a concern for me. Especially, when my browser flags them as unsafe, return to safety, or proceed at my own risk, I had to probe a bit to be sure they are legitimate.

Two. A nagging thought I have is, does anybody actually read the survey results? I presume so. What else would companies spend the money collecting the data and then throwing them away? With that logic, I don’t hold back. My inputs can be brutally honest – not only in scores but also in written comments.

Three. Will my inputs move the needle? In other words, will my inputs be aggregated with others? Or I’m wasting my time? Could my opinion, for example, influence the airlines to increase the legroom onboard? Convince the businesses to switch customer facing from bots to real agent?

My guess is that I’ll never know.

What about you? Would you take the survey?

This entry was posted in big data, life, social and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Have You Got a Buddha Moment?